The New Additive manufacTuring Heat ExchaNger for Aeronautic (NATHENA) aims at developing new complex inner structures for heat exchangers. Financed 100% by the European Union.

Heat Exchanger

Project aim

NATHENA aims its research at developing an innovative heat exchanger for civil aircraft. In classic heat exchangers, the structural geometry is optimized with the latest technology breakthroughs. However, these designs are not the heat exchanger’s design ultimate optimization. They are only the result of production mean, where internal channels have limited shape possibilities. When taking additive manufacturing into the process, the design can surpass these limitations, creating brand new efficiency models. The NATHENA project aims at developing an adaptable and modular compact heat exchanger (CHX), optimized at multiple scales.

Overall content

The NATHENA project focuses on proving with a real CHX that additive manufacturing can benefit the whole aeronautics industry with new and complex heat exchanger inner structures. It will allow an efficient hybrid propulsion system. Through expert simulation, crafting and testing, thermal and weight performances can be improved, while maintaining or improving other constraints.

Two materials will be used during the project:

  • Aluminum AS10, a commonly used alloy for heat exchangers.
  • Inconel™ 718, an alloy that, while not ideal at first sight, has specific additive properties that may improve results over aluminum.

The set goals will be reached using thermal, mechanical and fluidic simulations applied to a modular design to form a matrix of complex inner structures. Weight reduction will be present through topological and parametric optimization carried out iteratively. This will ensure the most efficient CHX model.

After manufacturing extremely detailed samples on a high definition metal 3D printer such as the FormUp 350, tests will be carried out by the Institute von Karman.

Project information

NATHENA

Grant agreement ID: 785520

Start date End date
March, 1st 2018 February, 28th 2022

Founded under:

H2020-EU.3.44.5.1

Overall budget:
€ 1,499,177.50

EU contribution:
€ 1,499,177.50

Coordinated by:

SOGECLAIR AEROSPACE SAS

 France

Find out more on CORDIS

Participants

  • SOGECLAIR
    A strong actor in the aeronautics industry, the SOGECLAIR group designs, crafts and supports innovative products & solutions for civil and military transports. Their R&D policy supports the participation in programs such as the futur aircraft and autonomous vehicles.
  • TEMISTh
    TEMISTh is a spin-off of the IUSTI laboratory created in 2012 and specialised in thermal energetic efficiency. They develop digital tools and virtual concepts dedicated to 3D printed heat exchangers.
  • AddUp
    AddUp is the European leading OEM metal 3D printing manufacturer. With its unique technologies allowing for premium quality and industrial productivity, the company ensures that NATHENA will be an additive manufacturing success. Their technical know-how in manufacturing allows for high-quality parts and excellent productivity.
  • von Karman Institute
    The von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics was founded in 1956 by Profesor Von Karman as an international center for the study and research of NATO's citizens. The Institute encourages research on experimental, digital and theoretical aspects of liquids and gas flux in aerospace and aeronautics.
Thermo-fluidal simulation of innovative heat exchangers Complex exchanger conception Aluminium/Inconel™ (TRL4) demonstrator Validation through wind tunnel testing
Compact Heat Exchanger NATHENA Thermal Simulation Compact Heat Exchanger NATHENA Compact Heat Exchanger NATHENA Wind testing
Temisth SOGECLAIR Aerospace AddUp Von Karman Institute

Newsletter

Download the NATHENA newsletter to know more.

Newsletter 01 (French)

Le programme NATHENA (New Additive manufacTuring Heat ExchaNger for Aeronautic) a pour but de développer de nouvelles structures internes complexes pour les échangeurs thermiques. Il s’agit d’un programme financé à 100% par l’Union Européenne.

Échangeur thermique

Objectif

NATHENA oriente ses recherches vers le développement d’un échangeur thermique innovant pour l’aviation civile. Les échangeurs thermiques classiques optimisent la géométrie structurelle grâce aux dernières avancées technologiques. Cependant, ces conceptions ne reflètent pas une conception parfaitement optimale. Elles ne sont que le résultat d’un moyen de production où les formes des canaux internes n’ont que peu de possibilités. Lorsque l’on intègre la fabrication additive au processus, le design peut dépasser ces limites, créant ainsi de tout nouveaux modèles d’efficacité. Le projet NATHENA a pour but de développer un échangeur thermique compact adaptable et modulaire, optimisé pour une variété d’échelles.

Contenu global

Le projet NATHENA concentre ses efforts sur les bénéfices réels que peuvent apporter la fabrication additive à toute l’industrie aéronautique avec de nouvelles structures internes complexes dans les échangeurs thermiques. Cela permettra de réaliser un système hybride de propulsion efficace. À travers des itérations de simulation, production et test, les performances thermiques et de masse peuvent être améliorées tout en conservant ou améliorant les autres contraintes.

Deux matériaux seront utilisés durant le projet :

  • L’aluminum AS10, un alliage couramment utilisé pour les échangeurs thermiques.
  • L’Inconel™ 718, un alliage qui, bien que loin d’être idéal de premier abord, possède des caractéristiques spécifiques dans le domaine de la fabrication additive qui lui permettrait d’avoir de meilleurs résultats que l’aluminium.

Les objectifs définis seront atteints en utilisant des simulations thermiques, mécaniques et fluidiques appliquées à un concept modulaire, dans le but de créer une matrice complexe de structures internes. Les différentes itérations permettront de réduire le poids de la pièce à travers une optimisation topologique et paramétrique. Cela assurera d’obtenir le modèle d’échangeur thermique compact le plus efficient possible.

Suite à la production d’échantillons extrêmement détaillés via une imprimante 3D métal telle que la FormUp 350, des tests seront effectués par l’Institut von Karman.

INFORMATION Projet

NATHENA

Grant agreement ID: 785520

Date de début Date de fin
1er mars 2018 28 février 2022

Fondé sous le numéro :

H2020-EU.3.44.5.1

Budget global :
1 499 177,50 €

Contribution UE :
1 499 177,50 €

Organisé par :

SOGECLAIR AEROSPACE SAS

 France

En savoir plus sur CORDIS

Participants

  • SOGECLAIR
    Fort de son ancrage dans l’aéronautique, le groupe SOGECLAIR conçoit, fabrique et soutient des solutions et des produits innovants pour les transports dans les domaines civils et militaires. Sa politique de R&D soutient sa participation aux grands programmes d’avenir tels que le développement de l’avion du futur et des véhicules autonomes.
  • TEMISTh
    TEMISTh est une spin-off du laboratoire IUSTI (CNRS UMR 7343) créée en 2012 et spécialisée dans l'efficacité énergétique des systèmes thermiques. La société développe des outils numériques et des concepts virtuels dédiés à des échangeurs thermiques réalisés en impression 3D.
  • AddUp
    AddUp est le fabricant de machine-outil à impression 3D métallique leader en Europe. Ses technologies uniques lui permettent une qualité sans égal, combinée à une productivité réellement industrielle. À travers ses technologies et son savoir-faire, l'entreprise assure le succès de la fabrication additive pour NATHENA.
  • von Karman Institute
    L 'Institut Von Karman pour la dynamique des fluides a été fondé en 1956 par le professeur Theodore Von Karman en tant que centre international alliant éducation et recherche pour les citoyens des pays de l'OTAN, dans le cadre de sa devise "Formation de haut niveau à la recherche par la recherche".
Simulation thermo-fluidique d’échangeurs thermiques innovants Conception d’échangeurs complexes Démonstrateur Aluminium/Inconel™ (TRL4) Validation via essais en soufflerie
Compact Heat Exchanger NATHENA Thermal Simulation Compact Heat Exchanger NATHENA Compact Heat Exchanger NATHENA Wind testing
Temisth SOGECLAIR Aerospace AddUp Von Karman Institute

Newsletter

Téléchargez la newsletter NATHENA newsletter pour en savoir plus.

Newsletter 01