Industrial sectors

The metallic additive manufacturing is an innovation and productivity trigger. Strong from our experience, 3D Printing is applicable at an industrial level, whatever the market you fit in. Discover a few examples where AddUp generates added value thanks to its leading-edge technology.

Automotive additive manufacturing

The automotive industry is a suitable sector for innovation through Metal 3D Printing. Engine parts, tools, and internal casing are examples where our technology can lead your company beyond common uses. 3D printing is an excellent and innovative way to build tomorrow’s car.

Tools use case in automotive: Michelin

Since the start of the year 2000, Michelin foresaw the additive manufacturing potential for its molds. A mold is made of thousands of steel strips – up to 4,500 for a winter tyre! -. If the only limit for each strip was Michelin’s engineers’ minds, then innovation could make a big step forward! However, this technology being still in its early stages and often seen for prototyping only, actors in this industry weren’t able to deliver turnkey solutions.

Michelin and 3D printing: more than a user, an actor

That is why, in order to answer their needs, Michelin decided to develop their own system from existing solutions. Since 2009, Michelin has its own machine with which they make some of their molds. Michelin is the first manufacturer to offer tyre ranges using this technology. It allowed them to conceive MICHELIN CrossClimate +’s unique shapes, the first certified tyre to drive under winter conditions, offering a lifelong optimal adherence on snow. They also built the MICHELIN Premier A/S and LTX ranges, for which the shapes evolve with wear to offer a better adherence. Yet again, MICHELIN X-Line Energy and X-Incity ranges reduce heavy trucks’ gas consumption. 3D Printing also allows reducing production costs. Thanks to this, the new MICHELIN XGuard range offers transporters on the Asian market premium tyres at competitive prices.

Michelin is probably the first producer in the world regarding metal 3D printing, with more than a million produced parts.

The medical sector uses from now on these technologies and numerous practical applications are yet to be discovered.

Take the example with CARMAT: the most advanced, fully artificial heart in the world’s creator and developer, CARMAT aims at offering a therapeutical alternative to patients with biventricular heart failure in terminal phase.

Collaborating with AddUp, CARMAT will provide an artificial heart for surgeons and their patients. This heart will benefit from 3D printing technological advantages, such as:

  • Optimized anatomical interfacing for better anatomical compatibility and surgical comfort.
  • A reduced amount of parts, securing the assembly of the heart.

Medical additive manufacturing

Aeronautics additive manufacturing

The aerospatial and aeronautics industry is one of the sectors that should use the most metal 3D printing. It is already interested in the many innovative ways they can use, such as:

  • lighten existing parts;
  • optimize existing parts;
  • create new functions with unprecedented performances;
  • and many more!

In order to guide aeronautical and aerospatial industries in the use of this technology, but also to allow them to exploit all the potential for innovative and increased performances, AddUp decided to create a partnership with SOGECLAIR, forming a Joint Venture dedicated to industrial production projects within additive manufacturing, specialized in aeronautics, aerospatial and defence programs.

This global offer has the ambitious goal of becoming a key actor within these sectors to conceive, optimize and realize additive manufacturing prototypes, before industrial production.

Aeronautical norms and standards such as EN 9100 or Nadcap, for instance, will be respected thanks to our AddUp Community certified actors.

Luxury: new designs and customization

Freedom of shape being almost limitless in additive manufacturing, new artistical designs are available for never before seen and customizable items.

An example of development within this sector can be told with Decayeux:

Decayeux and AddUp decided to work together to offer a finish and quality level for industrial metal 3D printed luxury parts answering this demanding sector.
Thanks to the expertise of each, this collaboration opens the gates to innovative parts mixing design, customization and new finishes, showing off the vast potential of additive manufacturing.

Luxury additive manufacturing

Secteurs industriels

La fabrication additive métallique est un déclencheur d’innovation et de productivité. Fort de notre expérience, l’impression 3D est applicable au niveau industriel et ce, quelle que soit l’industrie. Découvrez quelques exemples d’applications où AddUp génère de la valeur ajoutée grâce à ses technologies de pointe.

Automotive additive manufacturing

L’industrie automobile est un secteur propice à l’innovation par l’impression 3D métallique. pièces de moteur, outillages et pièces d’habillage intérieur sont autant d’exemples où notre technologie peut porter votre entreprise au-delà des usages actuels. Pour concevoir l’automobile de demain, l’impression 3D est une excellente voie d’innovation.

Exemple d’application d’outillage Automobile : le cas Michelin

Dès le début des années 2000, Michelin a pressenti tout le potentiel de la fabrication additive pour ses moules de cuisson. Un moule, c’est un assemblage de milliers de lamelles en acier – jusqu’à 4500 pour un pneu hiver ! –, si pour la fabrication de chacune, la seule limite devient l’imagination des ingénieurs Michelin, alors l’innovation pouvait faire des pas de géant ! Néanmoins, les acteurs de cette technologie encore jeune, souvent réservée au prototypage, n’étaient pas en mesure de livrer des solutions clé en main.

Michelin et l’impression 3D : plus qu’un utilisateur, un acteur

C’est pourquoi, afin de répondre à leurs besoins, Michelin a décidé de développer leur propre système à partir de solutions existantes. Depuis 2009, Michelin dispose de leur machine, avec laquelle ils fabriquent une partie de leurs moules. Michelin est le premier manufacturier à proposer des gammes de pneus tirant parti de cette technologie. Elle leur a permis de concevoir les sculptures uniques du pneu MICHELIN CrossClimate + , premier pneu été certifié pour rouler en conditions hivernales, et offrant une adhérence sur la neige optimale toute la vie du pneu, ainsi que la gamme MICHELIN Premier A/S et MICHELIN Premier LTX, dont les sculptures évoluent avec l’usure pour offrir plus d’adhérence sur route mouillées pendant toute la vie du pneumatique, ou encore des pneus MICHELIN X-Line Energy et MICHELIN X-Incity, qui réduisent la consommation des poids lourds. L’impression 3D permet également d’abaisser les coûts de production. Grâce à quoi, la nouvelle gamme MICHELIN XGuard, peut proposer aux transporteurs sur le marché asiatique des pneus premium à des prix très compétitifs.

Michelin est probablement le premier producteur mondial d’impression 3D métal, avec plus d’un million de pièces produites.

Le secteur médical profite dès à présent de nos technologies et de nombreuses applications sont encore à découvrir.

Exemple d’application avec CARMAT : concepteur et développeur du projet de cœur artificiel total le plus avancé au monde, CARMAT vise à offrir une alternative thérapeutique aux malades souffrant d’insuffisance cardiaque biventriculaire terminale.

En collaborant avec AddUp, CARMAT pourra à terme mettre à disposition des chirurgiens et des patients une version de son cœur artificiel bénéficiant des avantages technologiques de l’impression 3D. Par exemple :

  • des interfaces anatomiques optimisées pour une compatibilité anatomique et un confort chirurgical accrus.
  • une réduction du nombre de composants, sécurisant ainsi davantage l’assemblage du dispositif.

Medical additive manufacturing

Aeronautics additive manufacturing

L’industrie Aéronautique et spatiale est un des secteurs qui devrait utiliser massivement l’impression 3D métallique. Que ce soit pour alléger ou optimiser les pièces existantes, ou concevoir de nouvelles fonctions avec des performances inédites, ce secteur s’est dors et déjà intéressé aux nombreuses possibilités d’innovation offertes par cette nouvelle technologie

Afin de pouvoir accompagner les industries aéronautiques et spatiales dans l’utilisation de cette nouvelle technologie, et de leur permettre d’exploiter tout le potentiel d’innovation et d’amélioration des performances, AddUp a décidé de s’associer à SOGECLAIR pour former une co-entreprise dédiée à l’incubation de projets de production industrielle dans le domaine de la fabrication additive métallique pour l’industrie aéronautique, spatiale et de la défense.

Cette offre globale se veut ambitieuse en devenant une plateforme clé des secteurs sus-cités pour concevoir, optimiser et réaliser des prototypes en fabrication additive. Tout cela en vue de leur future production industrielle.

Les normes et standards de l’aéronautique (EN 9100 ou Nadcap par exemple) seront respectées par nos acteurs labellisés AddUp Community.

Luxe : Nouveaux designs et personnalisation en perspective

La liberté de forme étant presque sans limite en fabrication additive, les portes de nouveaux designs artistiques sont grandes ouvertes pour créer des objets inédits et personnalisables.

Un exemple de développement dans le domaine du Luxe avec Decayeux :

Decayeux et AddUp ont décidé de travailler ensemble avec pour objectif de développer une offre industrielle de pièces métalliques imprimées en 3D dans le domaine du luxe avec un niveau de finition et un niveau de qualité répondant aux exigences de ce secteur.
Grâce au savoir-faire de chacun dans son domaine, cette collaboration ouvre la voie à des pièces innovantes alliant design, personnalisation et nouvelles finitions, mettant en avant l’immense potentiel de la fabrication additive.

Luxury additive manufacturing